Friday, August 7, 2009

Extraordinary Ministers of the Holy Communion

The Special Ministers of the Holy Communion (SMHC) is a ministry of men especially commissioned by the Parish Priest to assist in the distribution of Holy Communion during the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass as well as bring communion to the sick, the disabled and aged parishioners unable to attend mass.

On January 29, 1973, Pope John Paul VI decreed IMMENSE CARITATIS – “On Facilitating Communion in Certain Circumstances” regarding the need of the laity to assist the priest in the distribution of the Holy Eucharist during the Sacrifice of the Holy Mass. The Holy Eucharist is the center of the Greatest Love of Jesus Christ for all. It is necessary to facilitate the distribution of the Holy Communion to those communicants in need.

Over the years, through the leadership of past coordinators Ananias Hernandez, Renato Tribdino, Ceferino Hermano, Renato Arcega and the present head, Leo Duritan, the ministry continues to flourish. It has expanded its involvement in a number of liturgical and pastoral activities of the parish.

To date, there are nineteen (19) SMHC in the parish.

SMHC Officers

Coordinator: Leo Duritan
Vice Coordinator: Boy Temporal
Secretary: Cesar Tiongson
Treasurer: Buddy Lising

Rene Arcega
Oscar Calma
Sonny Del Rosario
Joe Era
Tony Feliciano
Kerrel Flor
Ed Geronimo
Ceferino Hermano
Audie Lavador
Toti Mangubat
Sol Nacion
Mike Parayno
Bong Untalan
Gany Vidanes
Al Yap

No comments:

Post a Comment